# NWIFCA Annual Meeting 16<sup>th</sup> June 2017: 11.00 a.m.

# TECHNICAL, SCIENCE AND BYELAW COMMITTEE

## Purpose of Report

To present the terms of reference of this Standing Committee

### Recommendation

Members agree the Membership of the Scientific and Byelaws Committee for the forthcoming year.

### **Background**

- 1. Members of the Technical, Science and Byelaw Committee are appointed at each Annual Meeting of the NWIFCA.
- 2. The terms of reference from the revised Standing Orders are:-

"The Technical, Science and Byelaw Sub-Committee (TSB) shall have 10 members made up of officers from the Environment Agency, Natural England and the Marine Management Organisation (3 in total). The remaining 7 members shall be drawn from MMO appointees and Councillors elected annually at the AGM. It shall consider all matters of a scientific nature and the making and revision of byelaws and shall have plenary powers to act on urgent matters. Other Authority members may attend this sub-committee by giving notice of 1 week to the Clerk prior to the meeting. They may receive papers on request, speak at the meeting but not vote on an item. This sub-committee may co-opt additional specialist expertise from within the Authority to address technical issues."

- 3. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman are ex-officio members of the TSB Committee.
- 4. A list of all eligible appointees has been circulated and a postal ballot held. The outcome of the ballot will be tabled at the meeting.

CLERK 19<sup>th</sup> June 2018