The North Western Inshore Fisheries and Conservation Authority has twenty nine members. Ten members come from the constituent councils. Sixteen members are appointed by the Marine Management Organisation (MMO). There are three statutory seats for the MMO, the Environment Agency and Natural England. There are currently three vacancies awaiting recruitment by the Marine Management Organisation.

NWIFCA Members List – November 2019


Members Appointed by Constituent Local Authorities

Councillor A. J. Markley & Councillor K. Little Cumbria County Council (2)
Councillor N. Brookes Blackpool Borough Council
Councillor L. Beavers & Councillor S. Morris Lancashire County Council (2)
Councillor S. McGinnity Sefton Council
Councillor E. Grey Wirral Council
Councillor B. Woolfall Halton Borough Council
Awaiting Appointment Liverpool City Council
Councillor P. Williams Cheshire West & Chester Council

Statutory Appointees

Ms S. Kennedy Environment Agency
Mr T. Smith Marine Management Organisation
Mr M. Johnston Natural England

Appointed by Marine Management Organisation

Dr J. Andrews Marine Environment
Dr E. Baxter Marine Environment
Mr R. Benson Commercial
Mr C. Booth Marine Science/Conservation
Mr S. Brown Recreational
Mr D. Clarke Commercial
Mr R. Graham Commercial
Mr D. Harpley Marine Environment
Mr T. Jones Commercial
Mr B. Leigh Recreational Angling
Mr S. Manning Commercial
Dr B. Pearce Marine Environment
Miss C. Salthouse Marine Environment
Mr K. Thompson Aquaculture
Vacant x3

NWIFCA Technical, Science and Byelaws Sub-Committee Members

Members elected to the Sub-Committee

Dr E. Baxter (Chair) MMO Appointee – Marine Environment
Dr J. Andrews MMO Appointee – Marine Environment
Mr R. Benson MMO Appointee – Commercial
Mr S. Brown MMO Appointee – Marine Environment
Mr R. Graham   MMO Appointee – Commercial
Mr T. Jones MMO Appointee – Commercial
Mr B. Leigh MMO Appointee – Recreational Angling
Mr K. Thompson MMO Appointee – Commercial

Statutory Members

Ms S. Kennedy Environment Agency
Dr K. Nisbet Natural England
Mr T. Smith Marine Management Organisation

Ex Officio Members

Councillor P. Williams Chairman of the NWIFCA